first college essay.
[ 2003-06-05 - 10:19 p.m.]

Okay guys, I'm cheesin' it up on here. This is my first college essay and I wrote it in about 15 minutes and its not that great, but its summer school, so I say SCREW IT. I just wanted it to get over with. Topic: My most personal possession.

Stepping Inside the Box

In my bedroom, there is a bed. Underneath my bed there is a box. The box once contained a pair of shoes. I do not remember those shoes. The pair of shoes that the box once contained is not near as important as the items that box contains today. The items that lie within that box contain fragments of my life. This box and its contents are extremely important to me because they allow me to remember things that I may have otherwise forgotten, they help me stay true to myself, and they provide a constant to make me feel �at home� no matter where life takes me.

Throughout my seventeen years of living, I have experienced a lot � just as anyone my age has. Over these years, people have come into and out of my life. Some of these have people have made imprints on my life that have caused me to be the person I am today. The memories of laughter and tears with these people are memories that I want to remember forever. For this reason, I have pictures and other reminders, such as a bottle top off of a shared soda or a dried flower from a �first-date� bouquet, inside of my box. Whenever I need to smile or laugh, I know I can look at these items.

Throughout the process of growing up, a person has to change in order to adapt to different scenarios and situations. However, a person should always remain true to himself or herself. People tend to let the �ways of the world� change their character, morals, and beliefs completely. No matter where I go, I want to be able to look at myself and not be ashamed. I feel that by having my memories follow me in this box, I will always be able to do this because I will always remember where I came from and who I am as an individual.

At this point in my life, the future is unknown. In the fall, I am going to move from the one place I have always known as home and start a new life at college in a different city. I realize this as an important step in life and as much as I know I will miss my friends and family, I know I will always have them in my life. My box will serve as a reminder of this fact on nights when I feel alone. I know that I will be able to open it and look at the pictures and notes and souvenirs and feel safe. This box will always keep me grounded and �at home�.

No matter what happens in my life, my box will be with me. Although new memories will be made and more pictures will be taken, the old ones will always remain. My box will continue to be a source of happiness and good memories and it will always help to secure me. Sometimes, rather than stepping outside the box, we should all take a step in.

< ! & ! >
new
old
profile
guestbook
friends
dland
design
ell jay